Gents Trophies

McIlraith Trophy

Presented by former captain John mcIlraith in 1967 for senior competition. Eligibility requires the gentlemen to be aged 55 or over on 1st November. The competition comprises one round only, with a selected Breingan or Anderson medal.

The Club Championship – Hood Trophy

The men’s club championship was inaugurated in 1924, and two years later the officers of HMS Hood presented a trophy in appreciation of the welcome they experienced at the club. A scratch competition consisting of 36 holes of strokeplay, followed by a matchplay format for the qualifiers. Played over the clubs championship week 7th-14th August.

The Breingan Medal

The oldest trophy in the clubs possession, and was presented in 1894 by the clubs first captain, Alexander Breingan. Normally played on the first Saturday of each month, with a final among the monthly qualifiers held in September.

The Anderson Cup

Presented in the winter of 1921-22 by RL Anderson. Played as a monthly medal competition, with monthly qualifiers contesting the final held in September.

The Ormond Medal

The Ormond medal is attributed to HH Ormond, who was a club secretary, and is the Wednesday Medal. There are six monthly qualifying rounds, April till September, with the final play-off normally in June. The quirk being that four of the qualifying rounds being played the season before.

Colgrain Challenge Cup

First played for in 1901, the competition is a singles matchplay, which runs from April through to September.

The Kerr Thomson Trophy

An annual gent’s fourball matchplay competition, which began in 1970 and is played on a knockout basis throughout the summer months.

Blair Lomond Trophy.

Gents foursomes matchplay competition which began in 1962, with the trophy presented by former Luss estates factor, Charles F Swain. The knockout format mirrors that of the Kerr thomson Trophy.

The Peel Trophy

Presented by R A Peel for competition among second-division gents handicaps. One round of medal play to establish 16 qualifiers who then play matchplay knockout. The competition is a scratch event, with gross medal scores & level matches.

The 1963 Trophy

Played for by third-division gents handicaps, as with the Peel Trophy, the format is one qualifing round followed by matchplay, except that there are only 8 qualifiers. Gross medal scores & level matchplay applies.

The Scott Trophy

Presented by John Scott in 1973. Played as an 18 hole handicap medal competition.

Crawford Lochhead Trophy

This was presented in 1983, in mempry of Crawford Lochhead, for handicap medal play with a view to raising funds for cancer reasearch.

Spring Cleaning Trophy

Originally played for in the 1920’s, it was lost to the club in 1939, found and returned in 1969, it has been played for as an 18 hole greensomes competition in the spring since 1970.

McRobert Thistle Cup

Presented by Lady McRobert, who lost sons in World War 2, set up a trust which operates in many fields of activity. The competition is a handicap stableford, with donations to the trust which provided the trophy.

The ARC Trophy

Presented by the Arthritis and Rheumatism Council (Scotland ) and used for a handicap medal competition, with particpant contributions to the charity.

John McDonald Trophy

This was presented by the wife & family, in memory of John who died on the first green. The competition is a handicap fourball.

Ramsay Howarth Trophy

Presented in memory of Ramsay Howarth by his wife and family for a family foursomes competition comprising father & son, mother & daughter or other such combinations.